Release Blitz and Review: RENEGADE

Title: Renegade
Series: Moonshine Task Force #1
Author: Laramie Briscoe
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: March 9, 2017

When you fall in love with the most unexpected person, at the most unexpected time……

Ryan “Renegade” Kepler

I’m the type of man who knows what I want. I make up my mind and stay in my lane, never veering off the course I set for myself.

Going into the military? Did it. Youngest member of the Moonshine Task Force?

That’s me. Get my best friend’s older sister in bed? It was my pleasure.

Age means nothing to me. I’ve seen and done things men twice my age never will. What I want more than anything is someone to share my life with and that person is my best friend's older sister, Whitney.

Whitney Trumbolt

Ryan is ten years my junior, but damn, being a cougar never felt as good as it did the night we spent together. Now I’m struggling with wanting things to either go back to the way they were or spend every night in his arms.

Make my wedding planning company the best in the south? Did it. Ignore the way my body trembles when I see Ryan? Epic fail. Freak out when I see a positive pregnancy test staring back at me? Complete with mascara running down my face and clutching my pearls.

Looks like things won’t go back to the way they were. There’s a man in my life that doesn’t take no for an answer. He’s the one who makes my blood run hot, cheeks turn red, and heart beat wildly within my chest. His name is Renegade.

Purchase Links


This is my first read by this author.  I was intrigued by the synopsis.  This book is the first in a series about the Moonshine Task Force.  Ryan “Renegade” Kepler has known Whitney most of his life.  She is his best friend’s older sister.  One drunken encounter with Whitney and he knows he needs to do everything in his power to convince her they will be great together.  A positive pregnancy test just adds to the urgency of convincing her that age means nothing in the grand scheme of things. 

I liked Renegade in this story.  Despite his rough upbringing, he seems to have his head on straight and his priorities in order.  Whitney on the other hand, has also had a rough go with her ex-husband.  She feels unworthy of the attention Ryan gives her.  It takes quite a bit of time for her to get out of her head. 

This book is for the most part, a drama free romance.  Yes, there is a pregnancy, but Whitney’s family is supportive and once she lets her guard down, she and Ryan start to build something together.  My only issue with the book is that I don’t think it does a great job of setting up the series.  We see the task force take down a couple of stills, but I didn’t get the sense of brotherhood or even the urgency to know more about the rest of the team other than Whitney’s brother Tank. 

I am interested in reading more.  I hope as the story progresses there is more of a connection with the team and with their relationships with each other. 

*Complimentary copy provided for an honest review. 

Laramie Briscoe is the best-selling author of the Heaven Hill Series & the Rockin' Country Series.

Since self-publishing her first book in May of 2013, Laramie Briscoe has published over 10 books. She's appeared on the Top 100 Bestselling E-books Lists on iBooks, Amazon Kindle, Kobo, and Barnes & Noble. She's been called "a very young Maya Banks" (Amazon reviewer) and her books have been accused of being "sexy, family-oriented, romances with heart".

When she's not writing alpha males who seriously love their women, she loves spending time with friends, reading, and marathoning shows on her DVR. Married to her high school sweetheart, Laramie lives in Bowling Green, KY with her husband (the Travel Coordinator) and a sometimes crazy cat named Beau.

Author Links


What Blog readers are OBSESSING over