Review: Rising Storm #2 and #3

Book #2:  White Lightning by Lexi Blake

Secrets, Sex and Scandals …

Welcome to Storm, Texas, where passion runs hot, desire runs deep, and secrets have the power to destroy… Get ready. The storm is coming.

As the citizens of Storm, Texas, sway in the wake of the death of one of their own, Daddy’s girl Dakota Alvarez also reels from an unexpected family crisis … and finds consolation in a most unexpected place.

White Lightning is the second book in this serial tale set in Storm, Texas. This one is authored by Lexi Blake. You will want to read these in order and fair warning there may be *SPOILERS* if you haven’t read the previous installments. 

We catch up on everyone in this small town but the story focuses on a couple of undesirable characters. Dakota Alverez is daddy’s girl and feels like she should be treated as a princess. Senator Sebastian Rush just happens to be a married man who likes chasing young princesses. The fallout from the previous story continues to spiral. This is soap opera story-telling at its best! I cannot wait for the next episode to come out so I can see where the characters of this messed up little town take us next!

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn't until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem. 

Her first novel, Their Virgin Captive: Masters of Ménage, Book 1, was a collaboration with New York Times bestselling author Shayla Black. There are five more books available in the series: Their Virgin's Secret, Their Virgin Concubine, Their Virgin Princess, Their Virgin Hostage, and Their Virgin Secretary. The next book in the series, Their Virgin Mistress, is releasing this April.

In addition to the Masters of Ménage series, she is the author of the Masters and Mercenaries series. There are eight full-length novels and four novellas available now, with more coming in 2015.

In 2013, Lexi also began releasing her urban fantasy series, Thieves. The first five are available now, with Ripper, a spin-off to the series, coming in 2015.

Sign up for Lexi's newsletter at

For more information about her books, her appearances and her wacky life visit her Facebook page ( or her website (

Book #3:  Crosswinds by Elisabeth Naughton

Secrets, Sex and Scandals … 

Welcome to Storm, Texas, where passion runs hot, desire runs deep, and secrets have the power to destroy… Get ready. The storm is coming. 

Lacey Salt's world shattered with the death of her brother, and now the usually sweet-tempered girl is determined to take back some control—even if that means sabotaging her best friend, Mallory, and Mallory's new boyfriend, Luis.

Elisabeth Naughton brings us the third installment of this serial set in Storm, Texas. Crosswinds follows the teens in this small town—specifically the siblings of Lucas Salt and Ginny Moreno. Naughton perfectly brings the angsty feels to the story that teens all experience at some point in time. I really liked Luis Moreno. Despite the tragic death of his parents, he appears to have grown into a very level headed young man. I loved seeing the teens hang out with each other and support each other. Their inner dialogue was also quite humorous. This is the best installment in the group so far. 

As I read the story each week, I am reminded of those awful cliffhangers that TV series throw in at the end of a season. This story is a lot like that. The reader is left hanging. Some things resolve but more mysteries open up. I have grabby hands just waiting for the next week to hurry up and get here! 

*I received an ARC of this title for an honest review. 

Before topping multiple bestseller lists—including those of the New York Times, USA Today, and the Wall Street Journal—Elisabeth Naughton taught middle school science. A rabid reader, she soon discovered she had a knack for creating stories with a chemistry of their own. The spark turned into a flame, and Naughton now writes full-time. Besides topping bestseller lists, her books have been nominated for some of the industry’s most prestigious awards, such as the RITA® and Golden Heart Awards from Romance Writers of America, the Australian Romance Reader Awards, and the Golden Leaf Award. When not dreaming up new stories, Naughton can be found spending time with her husband and three children in their western Oregon home. Visit her website at to learn more about her books.


What Blog readers are OBSESSING over