Review: Revenant


The third book in the best selling Romance Mystery series, the Midnight Society   

With power comes the promise of blood.

With friendships comes the promise of betrayal.

With love comes the promise of tragedy.

The Midnight Society keeps no promises.

Shadow, the lord of the Midnight Society--a once powerful and world-ruling organization--is a man with many burdens.

He's losing a war with the Revenants, whose psychotic leader murdered his parents and was someone he once trusted. His best friend, Lincoln Richards--whose quick wit, charms, and loyalty are outweighed only by his sexual appetite--is a prisoner of the Revenants, and possibly dead. Meanwhile, the whispers of a traitor within his organization has Shadow constantly looking over his shoulder.

Perhaps the only thing going right for him is his mended relationship with Aria Valencia, a beautiful pianist with humble beginnings. Little does he know, she's hiding a dark secret from him, one that threatens to destroy everything they've built together.

In Shadow's heart, there's only one single thing that can make everything right again: revenge. However, the cost for revenge is high, one that's paid for with the lives of both his enemies and loved ones.

The war between the Midnight Society and the Revenants comes to a head in this penultimate chapter of the best welling Romance Mystery series, the Midnight Society.


          5 hearts

This is the third installment in the Midnight Society series by Logan Patricks. This series reads like a serial but contains full length novels. Once again, Mr. Patricks knocks it out with intrigue, violence, suspense, voodoo, a witch, hitmen, sex, ghosts, and sibling rivalry. The Midnight Society should never be taken lightly. The Revenants are trying to bully their way into being the top of the food chain. This book continues the story of how Shadow and his tiny remaining Society members plan to squash the rebellion. 

I’ll admit to not being very savvy with the whole “who dunnit” genre, so I am not terribly surprised that I didn’t guess the traitor in the midst. Some of you may be better at this. But I think even on a second read through, I wouldn’t see it coming. Masterful storytelling to be able to lead the reader in different directions until the end. 

We see a bit of Shadow and Aria trying to build their relationship again. Because of the possibility that Calisto can get in to Shadow’s head, he is reluctant to spend much time with Aria. Shadow is afraid he will hurt Aria and not be able to stop his actions. Not as much romance as the previous books but it does not detract from the story. It was nice to see Aria come into her own and take charge when she needed to. I did enjoy meeting some new secondary characters in this installment. There is also some wonderful banter and humor in this story. The level of fuck-upped-ness within this group of people is only beginning to scratch the surface. I have a feeling by the last novel, things are going to be revealed that will blow the reader away. 

I am so happy to have found this author and taken this journey in to the Midnight Society. You will need to read these books in order. The author has recently added new material to the previous books. Be sure to check Semblance and Penumbra first before Revenant. 

About the Author

Logan Patricks is best described as an author, trouble maker, and walking disaster. 

He discovered both love and heartbreak at the tender age of seven, when the pretty little blue-eyed girl next door stole his Kit-Kat and shared it with the bad boy from across the street. Devastated, Logan found solace by escaping into imaginary worlds he forged with words, creating kingdoms where chivalrous knights always got the princess.

Twenty three years later, Logan spends his days in a suit and tie, working for the government on matters of network security. However his thoughts never strayed too far from the incendiary nature of love - the passionate fire that's both scintillating and dangerous. Obsessed with exploring the steamy and mysterious side of human nature, Logan continues to create worlds filled with thrills, mystery, and of course, sex.

You can read random thoughts that escape from Logan's questionable brain at:

You can also join his exclusive guest list to receive free gifts as well as be the first to hear about new releases.

And yes, he's on your favorite social networking sites such as:



What Blog readers are OBSESSING over